February Monthly Musing Take 2

Dear 441,

You are a magical road. What is your history? I could do a quick Google search, but then I’d be reading instead of writing, which is the thing I am trying not to do right now. Write now.

Here is what I think is magical about you: you connect all these lovely piedmont towns, Milledgeville, Eatonton, Madison, Athens, then climb climb climb up into the loveliness of the North Georgia mountains, the places my heart belongs to, Clayton, Dillard, then carry us into North Carolina, where I suppose your name changes. Does it? Driving directions are not my forte. 

Here is what else: in the year 2010, I, Sarah the Sheepish, lived in Athens, a university town, studying, working at a library, venturing not far onto your storied path. If I had, I could have driven south south south to Milledgeville, where Brice the Brave was living his college days, studying some, playing in bands, venturing much further afield than myself. In all fairness, studying in Oxford is pretty far. But his study abroad that same year took him to eastern Europe. I digress. Let’s get back to the road at hand.

Now we find ourselves living in the middle of those lands, closer to Milledgeville than Athens, but still along that string of lovely towns. I love that we can hop onto you and find adventure so easily. I love that here in 2023, Sarah is not so sheepish (but Brice is still as brave, if not braver). I love that though 441 did not lead our paths to cross, the prayers of all those who loved us (and love us still), brought us together. I am glad to know the One who guided us together guides us still.

May you go ever on and on, 441.

Love,

Sarah

2 thoughts on “February Monthly Musing Take 2

  1. It’s not “a small world” when God is directing the journey. What joy the cross-passing of Sarah and Brice has created!

Leave a comment